Home / District / Sixteen Students Inducted into National Honor Society

Sixteen Students Inducted into National Honor Society

Sixteen new students were welcomed as members of the Phillip Leonard Chapter of the National Honor Society at Hoosick Falls Central School at an induction ceremony on October 25th. They join a group thirteen students, all of whom participated in this special night to honor the hard work of their fellow students.

The ceremony included and introduction about the program, which was presented by Chapter President Grace Wysocki, and explanation of honor society requirements. Isaac Humphrey shared these with the honorees and their guests.  In addition, members Ethan Mattison, Sam Richard, Abby Decker and Keelyn Bradley continued by explaining the four pillars of National Honor Society, which are character, scholarship, leadership, and service.

The evening ceremony also featured the Hoosick Falls High School Symphonic band who played several musical selections and provided music for the induction processions.

The new members were then officially inducted. The students, Abigail Attanasio, Aidan Breese, Maggie Brown, Hayoung Cho, Mollie Clyde, Jack Ganger-Spivak, Emily Gardner, Zoe Gress, Max Kipp, Collin MacDonald, Faye MacDonald, Kaitlyn Maxon, Staci McCullough, AMy Perry, Madison Tomszak and Madeline Walker, were officially accepted by High School Principal Patrick Dailey after reciting the National Honor Society Pledge, led by Vice President Olivia Brownell.

“We are so fortunate to have such a wonderful group of students inducted into the National Honor Society, “ said Mrs. Tommasino, NHS Advisor, “I look forward to working with each and every one of them.”

After a candlelight ceremony, Madeline Yeung and Maria Munoz announced that Mrs Sabrina Coll, a social studies teacher at HFCS, was chosen as the National Honor Society Teacher of the Year.

Finally, two student awards were presented.The Jeffrey Stratton Memorial award is voted upon by the members of the society for the student that best exemplifies the principles of character, scholarship, leadership and service. In addition, The Isabel McGuire Award award, which is voted upon by the HFCS faculty, is given to an individual who demonstrates commitment to, and perseverance in academics, feels deep compassion for others, is dedicated to the Hoosick Falls community, recognizes the importance of humor in our lives, and has a clearly evident love of life.  Both awards were presented to Gabe Fisher, a senior at Hoosick Falls Central School.

Congratulations to all on earning this academic honor. The Hoosick Falls Central School District is very proud of your accomplishment.

Photo Courtesy of Mrs. Gardner.